This Isn’t Going According To Plan #100Days

31

So, it’s Day 31. Of the #100Days workout challenge.

I’m still here. Alive. Kicking.

Sick.

Oh yes. I got a full 4 weeks of perfect health under my belt and then BAM! My second cold of the year. A doozy this one too. I had a fever for 2.5 days. It’s a full 9 days later, and I’m still totally stuffed up and coughing. Not fun. If I had to guess, I’d say mostly, it was because I was exhausted. I took 2 vacation days so I could get some rest. My body was over worked. I was killing myself. Slowly. Using bootcamp as my weapon of choice. But I couldn’t help it. I committed. That’s how it works. And man. Let me tell you something. It isn’t going according to plan. Which is the funniest statement of all. Like I knew how it would go. Like I had a plan, and then I was going to follow it. Unfortunately, much like life, nothing works that way. You can plan something to the nth degree, but it’s never going to go that way. It can’t. Life has a way of getting in the way. Just like I can plan out a vacation in it’s entirety, in my planning, I can’t really account for things like meeting new people and perhaps wanting to go and do something different with them. Or a wine tour that I’ve just been offered. Or perhaps a super cheap plane ticket to another country I had no plans to visit, but always wanted to be in. Life doesn’t work like that.

Neither does this #100Days Getting sick wasn’t part of the plan. Do you know how hard it is to go from doing high intensity bootcamp and boxing on alternate days, to laying on the floor doing a yoga or pilates video? B O R I N G! But I did it. Every day, I found something I could do. Despite the fever. Despite the cold. AND I made sure I got ample rest. I’ll admit, I didn’t eat as well as I probably could have, but only because being sick, I wasn’t hungry. So I had a lot of extra protein shakes. But I stayed on track.

This morning, I woke up stuffed up and coughing, but I can’t stand the idea of another walk. Or some at home video work out. (Can you believe I still have my VCR hooked up…) I need to go be with my people, even if all I can do for the hour is ride the spin bike. At least I’m with them. It’ll give me some energy. It’ll get me moving in the way I’ve been missing.

So. What have I learned? That getting sick is the PERFECT excuse to bag this challenge. Throw my hands up in the air and say “forget about it!” And believe me…some of the thoughts that have run through my head have been just that. In the past, this would be right around the time that I’d quit. Don’t you know? I just got really sick…and I need to stop it. It’s not working. Thankfully, it’s not the past. Thankfully, this is not the Rita from the past. Thankfully this is me. The new me. The one who has learned discipline. The one who knows that I’m bigger than some stupid cold. I wouldn’t quit. Actually…I WOULD HAVE quit…but I didn’t. I didn’t quit.

I’m still standing.

And tonight, even though the skies have opened up and I feel pretty crappy..I’m going to bootcamp. I’m going to get some energy from my fellow bootcamp survivors, and I’m going to be sore tomorrow. And I bet I’ll feel awesome too. Or not. But it’s Day 31. What else is there for me to do?

Go forth and kick ass.

That’s what.

When’s the last time you took on something that stretched you out of your comfort zone and when the going got tough..you quit…or almost quit?

Thanks for being on this journey with me.
Rita
xo

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

