#100Days Like A Boss

100 days

When Cindy and I started the #100Days workout challenge, neither of us really had any idea what we were getting ourselves into. It sounded cool to say 100 day work out challenge. But other than that, we didn’t really think it through. We had no idea we’d be tired for much of the 3 months. And when Cindy took on a 30 day yoga challenge at the same time, that sometimes, she wouldn’t have time to do anything else. The days when we thought doing a double was a good idea, or the days when just getting out of bed to go about the day was tough. Who knew that buying groceries, or keeping up on the housework or having some social time with friends would become less and less doable. My house wasn’t clean for the first 2 months. At least not as clean as I would’ve liked. I never seemed to get enough rest. God forbid I should want to spend time with friends. There was no time for that.

As time went on though, as we got into the 40s and the 50s, we start to find our groove. I could see myself racing from work to an earlier class if I had something going on that night. I could race home and shower and go out again if I had to. I was less sore. While my body still hurt all the time, I wasn’t incapacitated with how sore I was. The more I worked out, the less sore I was. Weird hey? I think it was because I was constantly doing something different. Cindy and I do the same bootcamp together 4x a week (as often as possible) so we were always mixing things up. No class is ever the same. So we never got bored. Well, I suppose it’s wrong to say never…because I remember around Day 75 saying to Cindy…”I kinda feel like we got this one already and I”m a little bored with it.”

Funny how that happens. You take on something you’ve never done before, and never thought you’d be able to do and then bam..you’ve done it. You’ve shown yourself it’s possible. And then one day…it’s Day 100 and you’re out celebrating with a hearty breakfast of pancakes and omelets and the like. We reflected over breakfast, what we wanted to get and whether we achieved those goals. For me, my number one was to see if I could do it. For Cindy also. I am not what I would call an athlete or even an active personality. I do a lot, sure. But that’s never been my life. I played team sports when I was younger, but preferred walking and aquafit/swimming to team sports. I never learned to play baseball nor did I have a desire to learn. I was more of the sit in a corner and read kind of person growing up. Plus I was always forced to do exercise as a kid, (that’s too long of a story to share here) in some pretty humiliating ways, so for me, as a grown up, i didn’t have to do that. But there came a time when it became important to me. It did wonders for my self esteem. I felt stronger. I felt hotter. It was starting to transform me mentally. I Liked it.

That’s how I felt with this challenge. My second goal was to alter my point of view about myself. That I actually could be someone who works out all the time. I could become one of those people that other people knew went to the gym a lot. There was a time in my life when people would be looking for me and they’d find me at the club every night. And now…if people are looking for me, they know they can likely find me at either of my 2 gyms. I wanted that. I wanted to alter my own point of view, but also impact my environment. I also wanted to inspire someone. Anyone. Even one person to take on something like this. To want to push themselves out of their comfort zone.

Cindy and I talked about how people work out all the time. Especially those who are training for races. They work out hard core, all the time. But neither Cindy nor I are those people. We aren’t training for anything. We aren’t entered in a race. We just wanted to do something to show ourselves we could. And we did. We are not the same height, the same build, the same body type, or even have the same lifestyle. And we both did it. I like to think that we proved to the “every man” that it’s possible.

Exercise is one of those things that you either love or hate. And let’s face it, it does kind of suck. BUT if you find something you love, it makes a huge difference. While I don’t love bootcamp, there are elements of it that I do love. Especially the support of the rest of the group when something is particularly hard. Like last night’s Day 101 class. It was the worst class EVER. I’m surprised I could get out of bed today. But we all did it together. And we survived. No one puked or passed out.

There are always reasons not to go. Too busy, too tired. Gotta go buy groceries. Have to get the kids to their x, y, z. Need to make dinner. Have to something or other. But Cindy and I…we kind of debunked every single excuse in the book. We started off the challenge, both of us with tooth infections and root canals. We both put our right hips out. We both suffered from exhaustion. And yet…we just kept showing up. I had a fever for a few days, and I kept doing something. Because I said.

So often I have let my reasons get in the way of what I said I was committed to. If I had said at the beginning that I was going to do some form of physical activity every single day for 100 days, but I could double up if I knew I was going to miss a day..then great. I could’ve done that. But I didn’t. I said every single day for 100 days and if we miss a day, we start over. Trust me..when you get to day 55 the last thing you want to do is start over.

It’s been an amazing journey. I am taking tonight off. And I”m pretty excited about that. Monday starts a new journey…I hope you’ll join me.

Thanks for being here.
Rita
xo
PS a big giant thank you to my dear friend J who doodled this amazing photo for me in celebration! xo

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

